Another Bunch of Top 5 Lists: All-Time Favorite TV Shows

The other day, someone asked me what my all-time favorite TV show was. My brain immediately went into stasis lock…and, I think, there might have been some drool. The problem is, I like a lot of TV shows (you’d probably get the same reaction if you asked me what my favorite movie or book is). The question was then altered to be: “What are my 5 all-time favorite shows?” Easier…but it still doesn’t allow for the fact that I’m open to a lot of different kinds of shows–comedies, dramas, cop shows, sci-fi.

I’ve decided to compile three different Top 5 lists–one for “comedy”, one for “drama”, and one for “other.” These are shows that I can watch at any time of day, 24-7. I like some of them so much that I’ve even spent my hard-earned (and far-from-endless) cash to own them on DVD. The shows on these lists are no longer in production, so I can judge them as a whole, from pilot to finale.

Top 5 Favorite Comedies of All Time:

1. The Honeymooners

2. The Kids in the Hall

3. Night Court

4. Fawlty Towers

5. Cheers

Top 5 Favorite Dramas of All Time:

1. Homicide: Life on the Street

2. The A-Team

3. Spenser: For Hire

4. Hunter

5. Hill Street Blues

Top 5 Favorite “Others” of All Time:

1. Firefly

2. Buffy the Vampire Slayer

3. The Twilight Zone

4. Babylon 5

5. The Adventures of Brisco County, Jr.

11 responses to “Another Bunch of Top 5 Lists: All-Time Favorite TV Shows

  1. I’m not a fan of tv. I don’t own one (except for dvd playage). Of all the tv I’ve watched (small compared to other people but way too much for me) there have been 3 shows that have held me.

    Law and Order
    Thirty Something
    Firefly

    All had great characters and moral dilemas

    Currently, I am discovering BSG and enjoying it.

  2. I am with you on Firefly, Buffy and Brisco Jr. but where are Battlestar Galactica and Supernatural?

  3. BSG is amazing and, even though I’ve only just started watching it, I think Supernatural’s pretty cool…but, pessimist that I am, until proven otherwise, I expect all shows to start sucking towards the end, like X-Files and Alias did.

  4. And yet, X-files is on the list and BSG is not. Oh folly.

  5. What? No it isn’t…stop playing mind games with me, Max.

    I cranked my geek level up to 11 and put Babylon 5 on the list…I’m *that* hardcore.

  6. Aw, you’re so cute when you scamper.

  7. On dramas I have to put in for the following:

    The Wire (I know, I know…I’m on the bandwagon)
    Deadwood

    Comedies:
    Arrested Development (my wife’s from Newport, so this one’s got a special resonance in our house)

  8. I’ve only seen the first season of The Wire and, although I liked it a lot (maybe not as much as Homicide), it hadn’t wrapped it’s final season when I made the list.

    Deadwood…whew. I like it, but it’s so intense I don’t know if I could watch it over and over.

    I haven’t seen nearly as much Arrested Development as I should.

  9. Arrested Development: Watch from the beginning and give it five or six episodes (all in a row if possible). That should hook ya’.

    The Wire: Another one that requires watching from the beginning and benefits from watching as much as possible, bunched together.

    Deadwood: It’s intense, for sure. I’ve watched it over and over and it gives you more on second and third viewings.

    TV on DVD is the only way to go…

  10. TV on DVD is a gift from the gods. And Netflix is their prophet.

Leave a Reply

