Top 10: My Favorite Comic Book Supervillains

Sometimes, you just want to make a list. And, I figured what’s a better topic for a Top 10 list than “Favorite Supervillains”…everyone loves a good villain (writers claim they’re the most fun to write and actors almost universally agree that they’re the most fun to play).

So, for absolutely no good reason whatsoever, here are my favorite comic book supervillains:

10. Juggernaut (Cain Marko)

As a general rule, villains who bounce back and forth between good and evil were not eligible for this list (it’s why Catwoman doesn’t have the honor of being included). Villains should be villains. Done and done. Despite that caveat, I had to include Juggernaut. Sure, Marko’s tried his hand at being a hero…but, to me, Juggernaut will always be a villain.

9. Mad Hatter (Jervis Tetch)

I love the look of Batman’s Lewis Carroll-obsessed opponent.

8. Darkseid

Ignoring all of that Final Crisis nonsense, Darkseid is a pretty solid villain. When you think about it, no matter how much of a pain in the ass Lex Luthor might be, he’s still no match for Superman. But, Darkseid rules a planet. A planet of evil. And he’s searching for the Anti-Life Equation so he can enslave all of creation. All. Of. Creation.

7. Zoom (Hunter Zolomon)

Not really a fan of “evil twin” villains–Bizarro is obnoxious and Venom is annoying–but I love Wally West’s Reverse-Flash, Zoom. I love how DC decided to make Zoom’s speed the result of time manipulation, rather than the Speed Force (something Marvel would do later with Quicksilver). I also really dig that Zoom’s reason for being is to totally fuck with Wally in an attempt to make him “a better hero.”

6. Clayface (Basil Karlo…I think)

There’s been a lot of Clayfaces over the years. The first one I really remember is the Clayface used in the Batman cartoon (he was pretty much the Karlo version with Matt Hagen’s name). Again, he’s a visually interesting character with a really cool power set. I think the current Clayface running around the DCU is Karlo, but I’m not entirely sure.

5. Scarecrow (Dr. Jonathan Crane)

I’m sure thousands of people have done the whole “Batman uses fear and the Scarecrow turns his greatest weapon against him” thing…but, I’m not that boring. Nope. Instead, one of the reasons I like Scarecrow (and The Riddler, who’ll appear later) is that they’re intelligent villains. Sure, they’re six kinds of insane, but they’re also thinking villains. And, despite what certain people in Hollywood might want you to think, Batman is a genius and deserves to face villains who can potentially give him a run for his money.

4. The Lizard (Dr. Curt Connors)

I love a good Jekyll and Hyde story–it’s why I like the Hulk–and Spider-Man’s scaly foe fits the bill.

3. The Riddler (Edward Nigma)

Love me some Riddler. The green suit, the domino mask, the bowler. Awesome. Too bad he’s a private detective or whatever now. Lame.

2. Green Goblin (Norman Osborn)

In or out of costume, Norman Osborn is a ruthless dick…and I love it. There’s nothing this guy won’t do, whether it’s seizing control of America’s military or banging his foe’s girlfriend.

1. Doctor Victor von Doom

Doom’s a genius. If people would just recognize his brilliance everything would be fine. But, no. Everyone’s all about that infernal Richards. Fools!

Leave a Reply

