A Quick Post About A Game of Thrones

So, I’m about 150 (or so) pages into George R. R. Martin’s A Game of Thrones and, while I’m enjoying it so far, I do find myself asking the following question: Am I supposed to hate about 85% of the characters?

If that’s the case, cool. But, as of right now, I can count the number of characters I actually like on one hand:

  • Jon Snow
  • Tyrion Lannister
  • Ned Stark
  • Arya Stark
  • Robert Baratheon (and I’m still a little iffy on him)

Again, this isn’t a criticism of the novel…but, more an attempt to figure out if I’m being too hard on some of the characters.

2 responses to “A Quick Post About A Game of Thrones

  1. Short answer? Yes. But you’ll be amazed when you get to book four how your opinions have changed about characters you thought you hated. One character in particular was particularly heinous, but now they are my favorite character in the whole series. So. Just go along the for the (seriously insane) ride.

  2. I suspected as much.

    And, don’t worry: I’ve already ordered the next two.

Leave a Reply

