Top 10 Movies of 2010

Admittedly, I don’t see a lot of new movies…but here we go:

1. Scott Pilgrim vs. The World

I’m not a huge fan of the Scott Pilgrim books. I read the first one and thought it was okay. But, this movie was incredible. It was funny. It had great visuals, awesome music, and an epic cast of epic epicness.

2. The Wolfman

Werewolves are my favorite supernatural critters and Universal’s original The Wolf Man is my favorite classic horror movie, so I was pretty pumped for this movie. Was it perfect? No. But, it was one of the better portrayals of lycanthropes that have come out of Hollywood in recent years. Also, I love how the writers tipped their hats to Lon Chaney, Jr. by making Benicio del Toro’s Lawrence Talbot a Shakespearean actor known for his ability to drastically alter his appearance on stage.

3. Iron Man 2

A lot of people criticized Iron Man 2 for having a plot that was nearly indistinguishable from the first one or for being little more than a prequel to Marvel’s upcoming Avengers movie. These may be valid criticisms, but I don’t care…not when I get to see Robert Downey, Jr. playing a drunk Tony Stark in full Iron Man armor. Also: Scarlett Johansson…pretty.

4. Secretariat

Secretariat is not the kind of movie that I usually see in theaters. But, when certain circumstances arise, one must decide whether or not to rise to meet them. I’m glad I did. I don’t think this movie breaks any new ground in its chosen arena, but solid performances by Diane Lane and John Malkovich make Secretariat truly enjoyable.

5. The Expendables

Yes, The Expendables was aggressively stupid. But, anyone who saw the trailer and walked into the theater expecting anything other than what was presented got what they deserved. Bread and circuses, people.

6. Harry Brown

I was expecting Harry Brown to be a little more Death Wish-y. In the end, I’m glad it wasn’t. The movie’s slow burn made for one hell of a tense viewing experience.

7. Predators

I had zero expectations walking into this movie. Did we really need another Predator movie? No, probably not. But, if they were going to make one, this is not a bad final product. The story isn’t bad. The cast is decent. There were even a few twists that were actual surprises. And, if that wasn’t enough, there was a nice little homage to the original Predator thrown in there.

8. Batman: Under the Red Hood

Where to start? First of all, the direct-to-DVD stuff that DC has been putting out lately is incredible. Personally, I’d take almost any of these over a live action superhero movie. Batman: Under the Red Hood is a thousand times better than that crap Christopher Nolan has been trying to push on us.

9. The Losers

A bunch of folks who use their skills to accomplish a task? That task involves revenge? There are explosions? Oh…you just knew I was going to love The Losers.

10. True Grit

Best movie I saw all year. No question. An old-fashioned western with incredible performances by Jeff Bridges, Matt Damon, and newcomer Hailee Steinfeld. There are no words to explain how much I enjoyed this movie. I want to see it again. Right now.

3 responses to “Top 10 Movies of 2010

  1. This is an interesting list, to be sure. I can’t say I agree with all of these (I found The Expendables nearly unwatchable, The Wolfman a bad movie with maybe 20 good minutes, and Iron Man 2 effectively killing my enthusiasm for superhero movies), there is plenty that I like here. Predators surprised the hell out of me, because I had heard so much negative stuff about it. Adrian Brody is a secret badass, and I love that. Also, someone else in this country saw Harry Brown! That’s always pleasing.

    If nothing else, this list is totally you. As these lists should be.

    • I was genuinely surprised by Brody. I really didn’t expect him to be 100% believable as a badass–like the way Ben Affleck is never 100% believable as a romantic lead–but Brody proved me wrong.

  2. Pingback: Year-End Roundup | Faust's Fantastic Forum

Leave a Reply

