Let’s Cast…THE TEEN TITANS

I’m pretty sure I’ve written before about my love of DC’s concept of Legacy Heroes…so the fact that I really like the Teen Titans should come as no surprise. The Teen Titans have existed in various forms throughout the years, but the basic concept remains: a gathering of teenage sidekicks (and, later, teen heroes), adventuring and growing without their adult mentors standing over their shoulders.

My personal favorite incarnation of the team is from Geoff John’s run on the title–former Titans Cyborg, Starfire, and Beast Boy offering second-generation sidekicks Robin, Wonder Girl, and Kid Flash, plus Superman’s teenage clone, a place to hang out and be teenagers while still getting in a little bit of superheroing. That’s what I’d want to see in a Teen Titans movie, the old guard helping the next generation of Titans come into their own.

Logan Lerman as Robin/Tim Drake

I like Lerman. I didn’t think he was terrible in Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief (although the movie itself wasn’t much to write home about) and he played Christian Bale’s son in 3:10 to Yuma–if that doesn’t qualify him to play Tim Drake, nothing does.

Kyle Gallner as Kid Flash/Bart Allen

Gallner played Bart Allen (more or less) on Smallville. I thought he did a fair job of capturing Bart’s cocky attitude.

Heather Morris as Wonder Girl/Cassie Sandsmark

Heather Morris is awesome on Glee. I haven’t seen her in anything else, but in interviews she seems to have her head on right. I’d give her a shot at playing Wonder Girl.

Luke Kleintank as Superboy/Conner Kent

On No Ordinary Family, Kleintank plays one of the few characters without superpowers (for the moment, at least). Conner isn’t the flashiest member of the Titans, and Kleintank seems pretty good at radiating that kind of strong, silent presence.

Penelope Cruz as Starfire/Koriand’r

I am not gonna lie: this choice is more or less based solely on the fact that I find Penelope Cruz damned attractive. Although, there is something going on with that hair, isn’t there?

Dominic Monaghan as Beast Boy/Garfield Logan

I dunno. Just seems to work. What do you think?

Leonard Roberts as Cyborg/Victor Stone

Between Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Heroes, Roberts has more than enough genre experience. His role as a tough but loving father on Heroes makes me think he’d do a good job as the Titans’ guardian.

Emily Perkins as Raven

I really can’t think of anyone better to play the half-demon Raven than Emily Perkins. I’m pretty sure Dominic will thank me.

Now, because I have something of an addictive personality and mild impulse-control issues, I couldn’t stop with just these Titans. Oh, no. How about:

Bonnie Wright as Miss Martian/M’gann M’orzz

I have a theory: every Avengers team needs a Vision and every incarnation of the Justice League needs a Martian Manhunter. By extension, the JV arm of the Justice League should have a Martian of their own.

Meaghan Martin as Supergirl/Kara Zor-El

You’re probably asking yourself: Do we really need Supergirl on the team when we already have Superboy? Well, all I have to say is: You’ve got a lot of nerve, Mister.

Percy Daggs, III as Aqualad/Jackson Hyde

This new Aqualad has recently popped up in the comics, however he was created for the new Young Justice cartoon. The whole Aquaman family has had problems with PR for years; even the most die-hard comic fans are under the impression that these characters are inherently lame. I say give Percy a pair of those hard-water whips and let him go…then we’ll see who’s inherently lame.

Lucy Hale as Mary Marvel/Mary Batson

I like Lucy Hale. I like Mary Marvel. Seemed like a good idea…mostly because this? Never. Really. Happened.

Finally, you can’t have heroes without villains; and, when I think Teen Titans, I think…

Ron Perlman as Deathstroke/Slade Wilson

Not only did Perlman voice Deathstroke in Cartoon Network’s Teen Titans (he was referred to as “Slade”), but he is just genuinely terrifying.

5 responses to “Let’s Cast…THE TEEN TITANS

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Let’s Cast…THE TEEN TITANS | Faust's Fantastic Forum -- Topsy.com

  2. justinquizon12

    Pretty spot on casting. Perlman as Slade, and Emily Perkins as Raven are my personal fave of the ones you picked.

    And who knows, a while ago I did my own fanboy casting and one of them came true!…kinda…..
    http://justinquizon12.wordpress.com/2010/05/14/my-casting-ideas-for-the-spider-man-reboot/

  3. What part of the word “teen” do you not understand?

Leave a Reply

