I Would Control the Horizontal. I Would Control the Vertical.

I just found out that Winona Ryder will be TCM’s Guest Programmer on December 21. That got me thinking–as these things often do–what movies would I choose to air if, by some miracle, I became famous enough for TCM to bestow such an honor upon me? Would I pick four movies from a particular genre? How about four movies that shared a similar theme?

Here’s the problem I encountered: I like a lot of movies. A lot. What can I say? I just like things. I’m a liker. I could easily come up with a list of ten or twenty “classic” movies that I’d want to show. So, in the end, I just picked the first four* movies that popped into my head.

1. His Girl Friday (1940)

Intelligent, forthright, and tough: there is nothing better in this world than a Hawksian woman. And, when I think of that particular archetype, I think Hildy Johnson.

2. The Thin Man (1934)

I love this movie. So much. William Powell and Myrna Loy are brilliant. All I want out of life is a banter-filled marriage like Nick and Nora’s.

3. Animal Crackers (1930)

Of course I would have to include a Marx Brothers movie. But, which one? Asking me to pick a favorite Marx movie is like asking someone else to pick a favorite child. So, I just went with the first one I ever saw.

4. The Invisible Man (1933)

My favorite H.G. Wells novel and my favorite Universal horror movie. Keep your Avatars and your Jar-Jars, the effects in this movie are still amazing.

*: In order to fill an entire night’s schedule, most TCM Guest Programmers choose four movies, unless one of them is particularly epic in length.

One response to “I Would Control the Horizontal. I Would Control the Vertical.

  1. I’d watch that double-double bill and enjoy it very much.

Leave a Reply

