Top 10 Movies of 2011

I always say that I don’t really go to the movies that often… But, I actually managed to see seven of these in the theater. As for the remainder: Thank you, Netflix.

1. Paul

After seeing Shaun of the Dead and Hot Fuzz, I expected Paul to be more of the same. Imagine my surprise when it turned out to be less of an homage to–or pastiche of–an alien encounter story and much more akin to a stoner road trip movie. Pegg and Frost can truly do no wrong.

2. Dylan Dog: Dead of Night

So, there’s this parallel universe where Clark Kent and Jimmy Olsen fight zombies, werewolves, and vampires. Dylan Dog seemingly came and went in about a day, which is too bad because it was a lot of fun. And, after seeing this, I could see Brandon Routh playing Harry Dresden.

3. X-Men: First Class

An X-Men movie where the X-Men actually fight evil…amazing! I’m willing to forgive Magneto’s whiny mommy issues and the fact that Xavier continues to be inexplicably British.

4. Bridesmaids

An example of how not to market a movie. Every piece of promotional material for Bridesmaids compared it to The Hangover, a movie I have less than no desire to see. Thankfully, I listened to the opinions of people I actually trust and I was rewarded with a movie that is perfect on so many levels.

5. Captain America: The First Avenger

Cap was always the one Avenger that I found to be next to impossible to cast. But, man, does Chris Evans capture him perfectly. This movie gets Captain America; it gets that, no matter how strong or fast he is, it’s the man that Steve Rogers was before that makes Cap who he is.

6. Page Eight

A tense, British spy thriller starring Bill Nighy and Rachel Weisz. Any one of those things would make this a movie I wanted to see. All of them together? Score.

7. Thor

Not the best of Marvel’s 2011 offerings (sorry, that honor goes to Cap), but Thor was a ton of fun with a lot of heart. I could have done without a lot of the political shenanigans on Asgard and with a lot more Darcy…but, what can you do?

8. Super 8

I grew up on movies like Goonies, Flight of the Navigator, and Explorers. Super 8 recaptured the spirit of those movies and several others.

9. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 2

Do I even have to explain? I’ll watch all eight movies in a row just to see the last fifteen minutes of Deathly Hallows 2.

10. The Muppets

I saw more than one review that called The Muppets “fan fiction.” I think that’s just a term used by people who think they’re too cool to admit to liking something. This movie was a love letter to a group of characters that we’ve all grown up watching. Deal with it. Also: I’m pretty sure this is what it’s like in Jason Segel’s head 24/7.

2 responses to “Top 10 Movies of 2011

  1. I’m finally going to see The Muppets today!
    I agree with pretty much all of these choices. Paul and Super 8 are like two opposite answers to the same question, and I loved both of them. I liked Thor better than Captain America, but I still haven’t been able to figure out why . . . Didn’t see Page Eight, but I will watch anything with Rachel Weisz in it. Putting on Netflix queue!

    • Yay, The Muppets!!!

      I never made that connection between Paul and Super 8, but it makes complete sense.

      As for Cap: it is basically a World War II movie…if that’s not your thing, it could be an explanation.

Leave a Reply

