What's Next?

Well, 2009 is about 6 hours away (for me, at least), so what better time to talk about some of the books that I’m really looking forward to read in the new year?

First and foremost, I’m looking forward to the newest book in Jim Butcher’s Dresden Files series: TURN COAT

51kp1vk4pol__ss500_

At some point in 2009, I also intend to start reading Butcher’s other series, The Codex Alera.

alera

In non-Butcher related reading, I can’t wait for the March release of the paperback edition of Cassandra Clare’s CITY OF ASHES

ashes2

It’s the second book in Clare’s Mortal Instruments trilogy and I really loved the first book, City of Bones.  (I have to wait for the paperback because I have the first book in paperback and can’t own a mixture of paperbacks and hardcovers within a series…yeah, I’m weird, but I’ve come to terms with it and so should you).

Now, this is when things start to get a little complicated.  There are about a dozen series that I want to check out this year.  I blame the internet, really I do.  I read about these series on blogs and they all sound really cool, so into the Amazon wishlist they go.  So far for 2009, I have the following books lined up:

Working for the Devil (Dante Valentine), by Lilith Saintcrow

A Great and Terrible Beauty (Gemma Doyle), by Libba Bray

The Uglies, by Scott Westerfeld

Ill Wind (Weather Wardens), by Rachel Caine

The Secret Hour (The Midnighters), by Scott Westerfeld

Magic Lost, Trouble Found, by Lisa Shearin

Yeah…I’ve got me some reading to do, don’t I?

7 responses to “What's Next?

  1. Hi Dan,

    I can’t wait for Turn Coat either — I’m a huge fan of Jim’s. You’ll have to let me know what you think after you read Magic Lost, Trouble Found. ; ) You can pop me an email at lisa @ lisashearin.com.

    Happy New Year!
    Lisa

  2. Thanks for stopping by, Lisa.

    I’ll be sure to let you know what I think as soon as I finish MAGIC LOST (although I am happy to know I won’t have to wait long for a sequel).

    Have a Happy New Year!

  3. UGLIES is great! And you should seriously think about reading THE HUNGER GAMES. Riveting.

  4. can’t own a mixture of paperbacks and hardcovers within a series…yeah, I’m weird

    Um… what’s weird about that? *is serious*

    Cassie Clare!! Yay!

    I LOVE the Dante Valentine series. Love it! There is some uneven editing in there, unfortunately, but ignore that and you get a wonderfully flawed protag and an incredible world. Saintcrow rocks!

    I’ve read the first in Libba Bray’s trilogy and really enjoyed it – I have the second lined up.

    The Weather Wardens series is a lot of fun, and many people think it’s hugely underrated. I’m only up to book 3, but will keep reading.

    *lowers voice* I’m not the hugest Westerfeld fan in the world (I know, terrible!), but I liked the first Midnighters book. I prefer his vampire books…

    Not that you asked for my opinion, I just thought I’d share. 🙂

  5. @Jill Thanks for the suggestion. THE HUNGER GAMES has been on my radar for a while. I’m sure I’ll get around to it at some point.

    @Karen I always welcome your opinion (as well as your stalking). Let’s be honest, you’re one of the folks I blame for my rapidly growing TBR pile.

    Um… what’s weird about that? *is serious*…you’re as OCD as I am, aren’t you? 😉

  6. I’m reading instead of writing. And I really need to write. Now I have more books to add to my wish list. Oh how I long for more hours in my day.

  7. You and me, both. If only I had some of those Michael Keaton MULTIPLICITY clones.

Leave a comment